Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


“What do I have to do?”
“Stand in the street and direct traffic. You will be a traffic light, in essence.”
“What if it starts to rain?”
“Stand in the street and direct traffic. And get wet.”

We’ve all been down that road before. Sentenced to do the mundane, thankless and uninteresting task. My life experience has been to add some flair to what I’m doing when the going get’s. . . um, boring.

As a young bagger in a supermarket I found that I had a complete understanding and proficiency of the job after about half a day. The rest of the time was spent “Honing” my craft. Just to make it more interesting I found new and interesting ways for the groceries to find their way into the sack.

Cans would get whipped around my back like a Harlem Globetrotter would a basketball. Multiple oranges? They would get a quick juggling routine if there was a young child present. A carton of eggs would get spun effortlessly on the tip of my finger before being deposited in the sack. Nothing was immune to being flipped and spun as it floated from one hand to the other, and then into the bag.

Believe it or not, there were never any disasters. Ahem, let me rephrase. Never any MAJOR disasters.

If an elderly person shared it was their birthday, I would belt out my best Happy Birthday ala Frank Sinatra.

Then over time things got a little more serious. It does for all of us. It’s no longer a matter of living with a flourish, but a matter of surviving another day. We spend more time just finding ways to “Phone it in” as opposed to thriving where we are planted.

I was watching an internet show this weekend on Creative Live. It was Don Giannatti, a friend and mentor, doing table top product photography. Pretty mundane when it comes to photography. But Don made it interesting. No, I take that back, Don made it enviable. It looked like it was a higher calling. It also looked very fun and interesting.

Don isn’t new to photography either. This is something he’s been doing for over forty years. Could it be dry and mundane? Yes. Unless you don’t want it to be. And if you can capture the spirit of wonder and flair, you go from an instructor to an inspiration.

Don Giannatti is an inspiration.

Let’s revisit directing traffic. So if you were given the mundane to do, is this how you would look doing it?

