Tags

, , , , , ,


Okay, I pimped my setup.

I bought a new laptop to use for tethering and processing on the go (I’m a photographer).
It’s a Dell Inspiron that I dropped about seven bills on. It is replacing the Dell XPS that I spent double that amount on. That was about six years ago.

The difference is that the new laptop is easily double what my old laptop was. So the big question is, what should be enough? I easily could have spent double to triple the money and got double to triple the laptop. But for me, it wouldn’t have been real gain.

I’ll explain.

One thing I’ve discovered after years of being in a family owned business and running my own businesses is that to stay profitable, it’s less about how much you make, and more about how much you don’t spend.
Unfortunately most of us have established habits young when we chose what to spent our allowance on. For me it was comic books and candy. Naturally easy decisions.

When we would run out of money, as kids, we would bide our time patiently until our next ‘fix” hit us. Or we would kick and scream about how unfair life was that certain kids allowance was so much more than ours and we deserved equity.

The kicking and screaming part never really seemed to impress my parents, so that left me to other means of raising my standard of “entitlement”. That meant sweeping rice, vacuuming our business, taking out trash, painting Christmas scenes on windows, etc..It was pretty easy to get jobs like these and they paid okay for what I did and the length of time and the , ahem, “diligence” I attached to each task. But hey, it paid the comic peddler so all was fine in “Nickland”.

How this has helped me in my adult life is to realize if I don’t want to work more, I’ve got to spend less. Pretty simple equation. But the realization came to me when I realized the things I like to do most is socialize with people. This usually involves playing games or having a klatch with friends. Not much high rolling activity, but very rewarding.

It seems every year when we decide to go through and organize our “stuff”, I come across remnants of my “had to have” days. Silently these things hold out hope that I will pull them out, ala “Toy Story 3”, and use them again. Many times reality hits and I realize that without the box and directions I have no idea what I’m even holding. I will ask in a one sided conversation “Are you a thing? Or a part to a thing?”. Mostly I know the parts (Being a man and all. Hmmph). But sometimes the sorting becomes a game of “Stump the band”.

So here I sit pecking away at my “Twice the features/capabilities for half the price” laptop on a Sunday afternoon wondering why I couldn’t have figured this out so much sooner.

Judging by my garage I would have nearly been a billionaire.

